Ushering in a New Year Along With Some Resolutions…

8 02 2011

Chinese New Year - Year of the Rabbit
Happy New Year! Okay, I did miss the western new year, but at least I’m here to wish a belated Chinese New Year!

I also figured that I would take this opportunity to address what’s been going on with my blog. So what has been going on? Well, as you can see, not really a whole lot. In fact, painfully so.

What happened?

I think the simplest way to explain it is that I got lazy about making the next posting. And by the time I thought I should post, it was already a few days. Which then turned into weeks. Then Months. Before I knew it, a new year had already come and gone, and I still hadn’t even processed the pictures I had been planning on posting on PAX10. I felt like the only thing I was only allowed to post next were those pictures, and for some reason I just didn’t feel very motivated, and even though I wanted to post about other things, I felt “stuck” on the idea of posting those images, which I was long past motivated to do so. I know that sounds weird but that’s just how it was with me.

So! What I’m going to do, is to get past that idea and just move on. I’ll get to it when I feel like it. I know that there is a point where if you make certain promises on your blog that you should follow through, but then again you shouldn’t just do something at the cost of your motivation to do so. So I’m going to keep that in my mind – to try to not promise things so I don’t feel trapped having to deliver specific things, or that if I do end up promising things, to have the material already good to go so that it doesn’t turn into an empty promise!

Other factors that contributed to my unwillingness to create a post, is because I didn’t set a schedule for doing so. I felt kind of like I should’ve been posting every other day or something, but I didn’t really give myself a very good guideline to follow….so I wavered. So I’m going to set a schedule for posting – let’s make it every Tuesday. I’ll just start off with a goal to make a main post for every Tuesday, and if I happen to make any other small posting aside from that, then great – so long as I stick to making it on Tuesdays. No particular reason – just so long as I have a process that I can follow.

Another crucial factor that depletes my motivation towards posting, lies in the actual development of the blog itself. It doesn’t feel like “home”, a place I can call my own, because I never spent a whole lot of time into the customization of the theme itself. I have this vision of some theme that would tout a personal mascot completely designed by me, something that I would be totally proud to call my “home”, but…for now, I think I will have to set aside that perfectionism, and just start with something, rather than leaving the theme almost bare. I’m still using a free theme practically straight out of the box! This is a problem I struggle with in all ideas that I have in my head – I imagine it probably is a problem for many people actually, to just get a project started and keep improving from there. I think too much about all the details, and how to get it all done at once, in the perfect way, that I become debilitated, paralyzed – not actioning on things.

Looking at all these reasons for why I don’t post more regularly, I can identify one common theme – the fact that I have some assumption in my head about certain things that I can’t seem to shake off, and in fact detracts from my ability to actually nurture my blog properly. There’s a saying that goes something like this:

“It is CRAZY to expect things to change if you continue to do the same things.”

I need things to change, so the only way I can do that is if I throw all these notions, assumptions, fixed ideas surrounding my blog out the window and just actually act on things in a more intuitive, instinctive manner. Ultimately, I am likely to make mistakes or move in directions that I might regret later, but I can always keep improving from there, and strive onwards in a refined spiral of continuous improvement.

I also want to make it my goal to connect with other bloggers with like-minds. I know that I can’t do that if I only have my efforts stuck in only maintaining my blog. Blogging by yourself gets to be pretty lonely too… So, I am going to make more of an effort to visit other blogs, make comments, and possibly participate in … *gasp* social media!

Phew! I apologize for the lack of images, and wall of text. I just wanted to get this out there, and start moving in a direction in a pursuit of happiness. After all, I started this blog to do that just that – purely for my own enjoyment. A great big thanks if you managed to read all this – I really do appreciate it!

Now to move onto tackling to-dos for my blog (amongst a great list of other things in my life)! I won’t make any promises as to what I’m going to do, but I think it’ll be more fun this way by ambushing any drastic changes I make via posts. I am going to stick to my schedule for now, and continue to crank out at least a posting every Tuesday, though please forgive me if you don’t happen to see any substantial changes through the coming weeks…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

