Phat Lewt #002: GSC Goodies Galore!

4 08 2010

There were certainly Good Smiles all around for me when a package came in the mail last Friday…

Though I didn’t actually receive the package until SATURDAY. It seems the mailman forgot to leave the pickup slip when they attempted to deliver this package. I was expecting this package, and as it was shipped via EMS, I was anticipating its every move as I tracked it, and on Friday I found out that it was in “Retention” at a zip code matching mine. I knew it had to be at the post office! The nearest post office to my home is a hop, skip, and a jump away. Seriously only takes me about 2 minutes to walk there. So I text messaged my hubby asking him to check the mail as soon as he got home (as he arrives home before I do) , and to meet me at the post office so that I could pick it up without delay, as the post office was on my way home, with the bus stop right across the street from it.

He later responds to me that there was no slip to be found. My heart fell and my excitement died. “What? No slip? Are you sure?” He’s sure he’s sure.

So I go straight home and check the mailbox for myself; of course there’s nothing to be found. Disappointment sets in as I moodily slip inside my home. I attempt to check the tracking again later that evening, and found the same results, the last scan revealing the package was in “Retention”.

The next day I drop by my local post office to try my luck and check to see if there was such a package. “Hmmm….yup, looks like there’s a package here. Weird how you didn’t get a slip.” Damn that mailman! So I sign for the package, went grocery shopping, then came to pick up the package and whisk it away home to relish the goodies from Good Smile Company’s Winter WonderFest 2010 lineup.

Good Smile Company Winter WonderFest 2010 Goodies

Big fat juicy box full of GSC goodness... Mmmmmmm!

Nendoroid Snow Miku

Front view

You’ll note from the first image that I have a few duplicates. Yes, you guessed it. I go by the very same principles that Konata lives by when it comes to buying merchandise: One copy for display/play, one copy for promotion, and one copy as a backup. Can’t go wrong with that system!

Nendoroid Snow Miku

Isometric front view

Yeah right. I wish I had that luxury of buying even a backup copy… No actually one of the K-On sets and Snow Mikus actually belongs to my friend at work (the one I help buy things for since he doesn’t want to use his own credit card….). The two K-On sets, two figmas, and one Snow Miku belong to me, though I am hoping to sell the extra K-On set and figma to help offset the cost of all this.

Nendoroid Snow Miku

Isometric back view

I hadn’t actually planned on buying Snow Miku, as I already own the regular Miku version, so I didn’t see the point of a repainted version. But then my friend insisted on getting it for himself. The more I looked her over, thought about it, and listened to my friend go on about how nice he thought she looked, the more I wanted it, until I caved awhile later and added her to the already bulging order. I look at her now and don’t regret having ordered her. In fact I think if I hadn’t, then I would’ve regretted NOT getting her. Yay me! She has a very sweet ice blue theme, which is my favourite colour, so of course I find this repaint very attractive.  Even better are the painted clear parts, which include her hair and her negi accessory. The paint job transitions beautifully revealing a hint of the clear part at the tips of Miku’s hair, and the snowflake prints really add to the overall theme. The clear negi was also a nice touch. Overall, very pleased with this repainted version.

figma K-On! Ui Hirasawa

Front view

I’m not actually into figmas, though I do already own Shana, Kagami Miku, and Yuki, though the last two were impulse store buys. I also decided that I wanted the K-On girls, and aside from my pending Black Rock Shooter figma, I think that’s all I will get as far as figmas go (unless a really awesome deal comes up).

figma K-On! Ui Hirasawa

Isometric front view

At least that’s what I say for NOW… I’m thinking other favourite characters are going to pop up and again I won’t be able to resist.

figma K-On! Ui Hirasawa

Isometric back view

Ui doesn’t seem to sport anything unique, though I haven’t opened her so I’m not sure what to expect aside from what the outside of the box shows. I bought an extra copy thinking I would be able to sell her easily… I guess I will have to see about that? I’m starting to think Miku would’ve been a better deal as she is quite popular, though I’m not sure what I was thinking when I made this order at the time.

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

Front view

Ah, the cherry on top! This is what I was REALLY looking forward to. The K-On! Mio and Ritsu Live Stage Set, which features the characters as they were in the school festival live concert that the four of them performed (Azusa had not yet joined the group at this point).

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

Isometric front view

I bought an extra copy since I figured there would be some demand for this set, and I might be able to trade it for another special release or sell it to offset the cost of my growing hobby.

 Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

Isometric back view

Anyone interested in buying or trading?

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

Contents inside...

This is a pretty hefty Nendoroid set, as it comes complete with the two girls, extra head each, full set of accompanying instruments, a mic and stand, extra varying poses of limbs, and an entire stage to fit both girls.

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

More of this so called contents inside....

Parts for the stage were hidden in the back behind the plastic casing. All of it looked daunting at first…I took a few moments to look over the instructions, of which have two sides. I looked at the figma di:stage part first, and I don’t read Japanese too well, so I got very confused when I was looking at this side about how I was supposed to use these parts to put together a stage. I flipped it over, and was like, “Oh. This is the side I wanted.”

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

Sheet of text bubbles

Even comes with speech bubbles to create nifty fun scenes with Nendoroids (or figmas it seems). There were other parts in the set I didn’t actually open up yet, but I believe they are parts for posing figmas, and stands to hold these speech bubbles. Nice!

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

Live jamming session!

Shortly after opening everything up and assembling things together, I got this! Looks really great and the stage looks polished, for something that is based on the di:stage design.

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

Closeup of the festival getupped cuties

I love this set, I really do. I love this set so much I made Radiant indulge and buy himself one. I’m such an enabler… I blame my work friend.

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

What holds them up?...

Just to show you what the stage looks like. So you can actually take your Nendoroids or figmas and stick them into this stage to pose them, without having to resort to their stand bases. Nice! Mio almost looks like she’s standing on her own. I haven’t tried posing a figma on the stage yet, but it looks like it might accommodate the height of a figma.

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage

*kusokusokuso* -- *buruburuburu*

Playing around with their alternate faces… Oh Mio, you big scaredy cat, you. I really like Ritsu’s evil cattish grin as she whispers scary nothings into Mio’s shivering ear.

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage / Snow Miku

Miku makes her debut stage appearance!

Yaaay! Miku! We love you! WOOOOT!

Nendoroid K-ON! Mio & Ritsu Live Stage / Snow Miku

Wait, is she singing into two mics?...

A great big thanks goes to an extremely helpful and kind forum member from the Pinky Street forums,  Rui-Rui, who helped make this order a reality for me (along with the recent Summer WonderFest GSC items). Rui-Rui made the entire order on my behalf and even shipped this package before I had even made my payment out to him. He even undervalued the package as I asked him to so it would make it to me safely past Custom’s evil clutches! Such awesomeness could not be described with mere words. Thanks for all your help Rui, I really appreciate it, and I will always be indebted to you. 🙂

BTW, for those of you who are curious, I believe Canada Custom’s limit is $200.00 CDN, no matter whether it’s a gift or not, so if you’re importing from Japan (I’m not sure about other places), then keep this value in mind when doing so to avoid hassle and cost from Customs. This package was marked in Japanese Yen JUST below what would’ve been calculated out to be $200.00 CDN according to today’s dollar values. I’ve had only trouble with packages that valued over $200 CDN, so I think it’s the magic number.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

